NaNoWriMo

So we have entered October, which means that NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) is only one month away. Yes, I know that one month is actually a fairly substantial amount of time, but this is my first NaNoWriMo and I am desperate to be as prepared as humanly possible for it. Plus, October is due to be an incredibly busy month for Real-Life Me, so between one thing and another I may not have much work to post here over the coming months.

I already have an idea for my novel though, which is something. Let me tell you the story of how I came to it.

I recently tried to write a piece with a lot of dialogue for the WritingPrompts September Contest (which I did not submit because my Senior Proof Reader though another piece was better. I may post it here, not sure yet). I picked and picked away at this dialogue until, in my efforts to perfect it, I actually picked it to pieces. As I re-read it over and over, with increasing frustration every time, I thought to myself: “hmph, maybe I should write a mute character so that I don’t have to deal with all this dialogue crap.”

Now I only thought this sulkily, out of bitter frustration, but it got me thinking: a character that cannot speak would actually be an interesting one to write. They would have a very different life to us able-bodied people even in the here and now, let alone in some medieval-styled fantasy world. Language in general was not very standardised in those times so sign language would be even worse unless there was a large deaf community, which would make it incredibly difficult for the protagonist to communicate, be part of a community, and generally live their life. So I decided that I’m going to take the task on!

(And no, it’s not to reduce dialogue! I promise!)

Leave a Reply

